• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic has a total area of 197,161 sq. km; the population in 1965 was about 3.5m. The capital is Dakar (population, 474,000). Kaolack (69,500), Thiès (69,000), Rufisque (48,300), Saint-Louis (47,900), Ziguinchor (29,000), Diourbel (28,500) and Louga are other important towns.

République du Sénégal

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1971

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations