Persian Gulf States

  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Persian Gulf States include the British protected states of Bahrain, Qatar and the Trucial States. They are in special treaty relations with Great Britain dating mainly from the 19th century, by which H.M. Government is responsible for the conduct of their foreign relations. This responsibility is exercised through H.M. Political Resident in the Persian Gulf, who has his headquarters in Bahrain and, subordinate to him, Political Agents in Bahrain, Doha (Qatar), Dubai and Abu Dhabi (Trucial States). See map in The Statesman’s Year-Book, 1956. Until 19 June 1961 Kuwait was also in similar treaty relations (see p. 1123).


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1971

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations