• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Kingdom of Laos, once called Lanxang (the Land of a Million Elephants), was founded in the 14th century. With its capital at what was later called Luang Prabang, the kingdom has always depended on the maintenance of good relations with its more powerful neighbours Thailand, Burma and Vietnam. In 1563 the King moved the capital south to Vientiane, and in the beginning of the 18th century Lanxang broke into two separate kingdoms, centred on Luang Prabang and Vientiane and an independent principality called Champassac. In 1827 the 3 countries accepted Thai suzerainty.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. La Constitution du Laos. Notes et Etudes. 1957Google Scholar
  2. International Conference on the Settlement of the Laotian Question. Geneva, 12th May 1961–23rd July 1962 (Cmnd. 1828). HMSO, 1962Google Scholar
  3. Declaration and Protocol on the Neutrality of Laos. Geneva, 23rd July 1962 (Cmnd. 2025). HMSO, 1963Google Scholar
  4. White Book on the Violations of the Geneva Accords of 1962 by the Government of North Vietnam. Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Vientiane, 1968Google Scholar
  5. Berval, Rene De and others, Kingdom of Laos. Saigon, 1959Google Scholar
  6. Champassak, Sisouk Na, Storm over Laos. A Contemporary History. New York, 1961Google Scholar
  7. Dommen, Arthur J., Conflict in Laos. New York, 1965Google Scholar
  8. Halpern, Joel M., Economy and Society of Laos: brief survey. Yale University Press, 1964.Google Scholar
  9. Government, Politics and Social Structure in Laos. Yale University Press, 1964Google Scholar
  10. Toye, H., Laos: Buffer State or Battleground. OUP, 1968Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1971

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations