• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The independent and sovereign State of Kuwait is situated on the north-western coast of the Arabian Gulf. The ruling dynasty was founded by Shaikh Sabah al-Owel, who ruled from 1756 to 1772. In 1899 the then ruler Shaikh Mubarak concluded a treaty with Great Britain wherein, in return for the assurance of British protection, he undertook not to alienate any of his territory without the agreement of Her Majesty’s Government. In 1914 the British Government recognized Kuwait as an independent government under British protection. On 19 June 1961 an agreement reaffirmed the independence and sovereignty of Kuwait and recognized the government of Kuwait’s responsibility for the conduct of internal and external affairs; the agreement of 1899 was terminated and Her Majesty’s Government expressed their readiness to assist the government of Kuwait should they request such assistance.

Dowlat al Kuwait


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Dickson, H. R. P., Kuwait and her Neighbours. London, 1955Google Scholar
  2. Freeth, Z., Kuwait Was My Home. London, 1955Google Scholar
  3. Shiber, S. G., The Kuwait urbanization. Kuwait Government Press, 1964Google Scholar
  4. Kuwait today; a welfare state. Nairobi. 1963Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1970

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations