Mongolian People’s Republic

Bügd Nayramdakh Mongol Ard Uls
  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. Outer Mongolia was a Chinese province from 1691 to 1911, an autonomous state under Russian protection from 1912 to 1919 and again a Chinese province from 1919 to 1921. On 31 March 1921 a Provisional People’s Government was established which declared the independence of Mongolia and on 5 Nov. 1921 signed a treaty with Soviet Russia annulling all previous unequal treaties and establishing friendly relations. On 26 Nov. 1924 the Government proclaimed the country the Mongolian People’s Republic.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. The Central Statistical Office: Economic Statistics of the MPR for 40 Years. 1961.Google Scholar
  2. 40 Years of the MPR Revolution. 1961Google Scholar
  3. Statistikiyn Emkhetgel [Statistical Yearbook, in Mongolian]. Ulan Bator, 1960 ff.Google Scholar
  4. Jstoriya MongoVskoi Narodnoi Respubliki. 2nd ed. Moscow, 1967Google Scholar
  5. Bawden, C. R., The Modern History of Mongolia. London, 1968Google Scholar
  6. Boberg, F., Mongolian-English, English-Mongolian Dictionary. 3 vols. Stockholm, 1954–55Google Scholar
  7. Haltod, M. (ed.), Mongolian-English Dictionary. Berkeley, Cal., 1961Google Scholar
  8. Lattimore, O., Nationalism and Revolution in Mongolia. Leiden, 1955.Google Scholar
  9. Nomads and Commissars. OUP, 1963Google Scholar
  10. Rupen, R. A. Mongols of the Twentieth Century. Indiana U.P., 1964Google Scholar
  11. Sandag, S., The Mongolian People’s Struggle for National Independence. Ulan Bator, 1966Google Scholar
  12. Sanders, A. J. K. The People’s Republic of Mongolia: a general reference guide. OUP, 1968Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1970

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations