• S. H. Steinberg
  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. The territory, including the counties of Demerara, Essequibo and Berbice, named from the 3 rivers, was first partially settled by the Dutch West Indian Company about 1620. The Dutch retained their hold until 1796, when it was captured by the English. It was finally ceded to Great Britain in 1814 and named British Guiana. On 26 May 1966 British Guiana became an independent member of the Commonwealth under the name of Guyana.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Newman, P., British GuianaProblem of cohesion in an immigrant society. O UP, 1964Google Scholar
  2. Report of the British Guiana Commission of Inquiry of the International Commission of Jurists on Racial Problems in the Public Service. Geneva, 1965Google Scholar
  3. Roth, V., Handbook of Natural Resources of British Guiana. Georgetown, 1946Google Scholar
  4. Smith, R. T., British Guiana. CUP, 1962Google Scholar
  5. Swan, M., British Guiana. HMSO, 1957Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1969

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg
  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations