República del Paraguay
  • S. H. Steinberg
  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. The Republic of Paraguay gained its independence from Spain on 14 May 1811. In 1814 Dr José Gaspar Rodriguez de Francia was elected dictator, and in 1816 perpetual dictator (el Supremo), by the National Assembly. He died 20 Sept. 1840. In 1844 a new constitution was adopted, under which Carlos Antonio López (first elected in 1842, died 10 Sept. 1862) and his son, Francisco Solano López, ruled until 1870. During the devastating war against Brazil, Argentina and Uruguay (1865-70) Paraguay lost probably 500,000 men. Argentina, in Aug. 1942, and Brazil, in May 1943, voided the reparations which Paraguay had never paid. Further severe losses were incurred during the war with Bolivia (1932-35) over territorial claims in the Chaco. A peace treaty by which Paraguay obtained most of the area her troops had conquered was signed in July 1938.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Gaceta Oficial, published by Imprenta Nacional, Estrella y Estero Bellaco, AsunciónGoogle Scholar
  2. Anuario Daumas. AsuncónGoogle Scholar
  3. Anuario Estadtstico de la Republica del Paraguay. Asunción. AnnualGoogle Scholar
  4. Report of the Council of the Corporation of Foreign Bondholders. Annual. LondonGoogle Scholar
  5. Pendle, G., Paraguay, a riverside nation. R. Inst, of Int. Affairs, 3rd ed., 1967Google Scholar
  6. Raine, P., Paraguay. New Brunswick, N.J, 1956Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1969

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg
  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations