al-Mamlaka al-Maghrebia
  • S. H. Steinberg
  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. From 1912 to 1956 Morocco was divided into a French protectorate (established by the treaty of Fez concluded between France and the Sultan on 30 March 1912), a Spanish protectorate (established by the Franco-Spanish convention of 27 Nov. 1912) and the international zone of Tangier (set up by France, Spain and Great Britain on 18 Dec. 1923).


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Book of Reference

  1. Bulletin Official (in Arabic and French). Rabat. WeeklyGoogle Scholar
  2. Ashford, D. E., Political Change in Morocco. Princeton University Press, 1961CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. Barber, N., Surrey of North Africa, 2nd ed. OUP, 1962.—Morocco. London, 1965Google Scholar
  4. Decroux, P., Les sociétés au Maroc. Paris, 1950Google Scholar
  5. D’Etienne, J., and others, L’évolution soclale du Maroc. Paris, 1950Google Scholar
  6. Drague, G., Esquisse d’histoire religieuse du Maroc. Paris, 1951Google Scholar
  7. Joly, F., and others, Géographic du Maroc. Paris, 1949Google Scholar
  8. Landau, R., Moroccan Drama 1900–55. San Francisco, 1956.Google Scholar
  9. Landau, R.Morocco Independent under Mohammed V. London, 1961.Google Scholar
  10. Landau, R.Hassan 11, King of Morocco. London, 1962.Google Scholar
  11. Landau, R.The Moroccans Yesterday and Today. London, 1963Google Scholar
  12. Mercier, H., Dictionnaire arabe-francais. Rabat, 1951Google Scholar
  13. Miège, J.-L., Morocco. New York, 1953Google Scholar
  14. Rivière, P. L., Précis de Legislation marocaine. New ed. in collaboration with G. Catteriz. 2 vols. Caen, 1942–46Google Scholar
  15. Sonnier, E., Code des eaux du Maroc. Rabat, 1954Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1969

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg
  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations