República del Ecuador
  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


REPÚBLICA DEL ECUADOR HISTORY. The Spaniards under Francisco Pizarro founded a colony after their victory at Cajamarca (16 Nov. 1532). Their rule was first challenged by the rising of 10 Aug. 1809. Marshal Sucre defeated the Spaniards at Pichincha in 1821, and in 1822 Bolívar persuaded the new republic to join the federation of Gran Colombia. The Presidency of Quito became the Republic of Ecuador by amicable secession 13 May 1830.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Anuario de Legislatión Ecuatoriana. Quito. AnnualGoogle Scholar
  2. Boletín de Hacíenda. Quito. MonthlyGoogle Scholar
  3. Boletín del Banco Central. QuitoGoogle Scholar
  4. Boletín General de Estadistica. Tri-monthlyGoogle Scholar
  5. Boletín Mensual del Ministerio de Obras Públicas. MonthlyGoogle Scholar
  6. Informes Ministeriales. Quito. AnnualGoogle Scholar
  7. Bibliografia National, 1756–1941. Quito, 1942Google Scholar
  8. Blanksten, G. I., Ecuador: Constitutions and Caudillos. Univ. of California Press, 1951Google Scholar
  9. Buitrón, Anibal, and Collier, Jr, J., The Awakening Valley: study of the Otavalo Indians. New York, 1950Google Scholar
  10. Corporation of Foreign Bondholders. Annual Report. LondonGoogle Scholar
  11. Hagen, V. W. von, Ecuador and the Galápagos Islands. Norman, Okla., 1949Google Scholar
  12. Holdridge, L. R., and others, The Forests of Western and Central Ecuador. Washington, 1947Google Scholar
  13. Linke, L., Ecuador, Country of Contrasts. R. Inst. of Int. Affairs, 3rd ed., 1959Google Scholar
  14. Luna Yepes, J., Sintesis histórica y geográfica del Ecuador. Madrid, 1951Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1967

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg
    • 1
  1. 1.The Royal Historical SocietyUSA

Personalised recommendations