• S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. The territory, including the counties of Demerara, Essequibo and Berbice, named from the 3 rivers, was first partially settled by the Dutch West Indian Company about 1620. The Dutch retained their hold until 1796, when it was captured by the English. It was finally ceded to Great Britain in 1814 and named British Guiana.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Newman, P., British GuianaProblem of cohesion in an immigrant Society. OUP, 1964Google Scholar
  2. Roth. V., Handbook of Natural Resources of British Guiana. Georgetown, 1946Google Scholar
  3. Simms, P., Trouble in Guyana. London, 1966Google Scholar
  4. Smith, R. T., British Guiana. OUP, 1962.Google Scholar
  5. Smith, R. T., The Negro Family in British Guiana. London, 1956Google Scholar
  6. Swan, M., British Guiana, HMSO, 1957Google Scholar
  7. Report of the British Guiana Commission of Inquiry of the International Commission of Jurists on Racial Problems in the Public Service. Geneva, 1965Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1967

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg
    • 1
  1. 1.The Royal Historical SocietyUSA

Personalised recommendations