• S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT. Malawi, formerly Nyasaland (until 1907 British Central Africa) Protectorate, constituted on 15 May 1891, lies along the southern and western shores of Lake Malawi (the third largest lake in Africa, 11,460 sq. miles, about 300 miles in length and from 10 to 50 miles wide), with the Shire River as outlet to the Zambezi. Malawi, ‘reflected light’ or ‘bright haze’, was in earlier times used to describe an area comprising former Nyasaland and parts of Zambia and of Mozambique.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. General Information. Chief Information Officer, Department of Information, P.O. Box 494, Blantyre.Google Scholar
  2. Annual Report, 1962. HMSO, 1963Google Scholar
  3. Clutton-Brook, G., Dawn in Nyasaland. London, 1964Google Scholar
  4. Debenham, F., Nyasaland. HMSO, 1956Google Scholar
  5. Gelfand, M., Lakeside Pioneers. Socio-medical study of Nyasaland, 1875–1920. Oxford, 1964Google Scholar
  6. Jones, G., Britain and Nyasaland. London, 1964Google Scholar
  7. Mackay, P., Portrait of Malawi. Government Printer, ZombaGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1967

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg
    • 1
  1. 1.The Royal Historical SocietyUSA

Personalised recommendations