Republic of South Africa

  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT. The Republic of South Africa Constitution Act 1961 established, with effect from 31 May 1961, the Republic, consisting of the 4 provinces—the Cape of Good Hope, Natal, the Transvaal and the Orange Free State—which until then comprised the Union of South Africa.

Republiek van Suid-Afrika


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Official Year Book of the Union of South Africa and of Basutoland, Bechuanaland Protectorate and Swaziland. From 1918 (preceded by the Statistical Tear Book, 1913–17). Latest issue No. 30 (1960)Google Scholar
  2. Union Statistics for 50 Years: Jubilee Issue, 1910–60 (1960)Google Scholar
  3. Statistical Year Book. From 1964Google Scholar
  4. Statistics of Production: Industrial. Annual, from 1915/16 (but suspended from 1929/30 to 1931/32 and from 1938 to 1942)Google Scholar
  5. Statistics of Production: Agricultural. Annual, from 1917/18 (but suspended from 1929/30 to 1931/32 and from 1939 to 1946)Google Scholar
  6. Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (from 1922)Google Scholar
  7. Population Census, 1960. (Various special reports in course of publication) South African Reserve Bank, Quarterly Bulletin of Statistics Google Scholar
  8. The Customs and Excise Oflice, Pretoria, publishes Monthly Abstract of Trade Statistics (from 1946) and Trade and Shipping of the Union of South Africa (annually, 1910–55); Foreign Trade Statistics (annually, from 1956)Google Scholar
  9. Bate, H. M., South Africa without prejudice. London, 1956Google Scholar
  10. Bosman, D. B., Tweetalige Woordeboek. 2 vols. Cape Town, 1946–49Google Scholar
  11. Cole, M., South Africa. London, 1961Google Scholar
  12. Hofmeyr, J. H., South Africa. Rev. ed. by J. P. Cope. London, 1952Google Scholar
  13. Marquard, L., The Story of South Africa. 3rd ed. London, 1964Google Scholar
  14. Reeve, A. (Bishop of Johannesburg), Agony of South Africa. London, 1960Google Scholar
  15. Talbot, A. M. and W. J., Atlas of the Union of South Africa. Pretoria, Govt. Printer, 1960Google Scholar
  16. Walker, E. A., History of Southern Africa. London, 1957Google Scholar
  17. Wellington, J. H., Southern Africa, a geographical guide. 2 vols. CUP, 1955Google Scholar
  18. Official Guide. Cape Town, 1953Google Scholar
  19. Du Toit, P. S., Onderwys in Kaapland, 1652–1939. Pretoria, 1940Google Scholar
  20. Kilpin, R., The Parliament of the Cape. London, 1939Google Scholar
  21. Marais, J. S., The Cape Coloured People, 1652–1937. London, 1939Google Scholar
  22. Town and Regional Planning Commission, Natal: The Tugela Basin (1952), Towards a Plan for the Tugela Basin (1960), The Population and Labour Resources of Natal (1960)Google Scholar
  23. Cullingvorsh’s Natal Almanac. Annual. DurbanGoogle Scholar
  24. Doke, O. M., and Vilakazi, B. W., Zulu-English Dictionary. Johannesburg, 1948Google Scholar
  25. Fair, T. J. D., Natal Regional Survey. 3 vols. OUT, 1955Google Scholar
  26. Kuper, H., Indian People in Natal. Natal Univ. Press, 1960Google Scholar
  27. Tatlow, A. H., Natal Province: Descriptive Guide and Official Handbook. Durban and London. AnnualGoogle Scholar
  28. Transvaal Official Guide. Cape Town, 1955Google Scholar
  29. Eliovson, E., Johannesburg, the fabulous city. Cape Town, 1956Google Scholar
  30. Symonds, F. A., The Johannesburg Story. London, 1953Google Scholar
  31. The Territory of South West Africa. (In Official Year Book of the Union of South Africa) Google Scholar
  32. Department of Mines: Quarterly Information Circulars: Industrial Minerals Google Scholar
  33. Wipplinger, C., The Storage of Water in Sand. Windhoek, 1959Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1967

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg
    • 1
  1. 1.The Royal Historical SocietyUSA

Personalised recommendations