• S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The independent and sovereign State of Kuwait is situated on the northwestern coast of the Arabian Gulf. The ruling dynasty was founded by Shaikh Sabah abu Abdullah, who ruled from 1756 to 1772. In 1899 the then ruler Shaikh Mubarak, fearing that the Turkish Government intended to make their nominal authority in Kuwait effective, concluded a treaty with Great Britain wherein, in return for the assurance of British protection, he undertook not to alienate any of his territory without the agreement of Her Majesty’s Government. In 1914 the British Government recognized Kuwait as an independent government under British protection. On 19 June 1961 an agreement was signed between Britain and Kuwait in which the independence and sovereignty of Kuwait was reaffirmed and the government of Kuwait’s responsibility for the conduct of internal and external affairs was recognized; the agreement of 1899 was terminated and Her Majesty’s Government expressed their readiness to assist the government of Kuwait should they request such assistance.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1964

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg
    • 1
  1. 1.The Royal Historical SocietyUK

Personalised recommendations