• S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Prom 1912 to 1956 Morocco was divided into a French protectorate (established by the treaty of Fez concluded between France and the Sultan on 30 March 1912), a Spanish protectorate (established by the Franco-Spanish convention of 27 Nov. 1912) and the international zone of Tangier (set up by France, Spain and Great Britain on 18 Dec. 1923).

Al-Mamlaka Al-Maghrebia


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Bulletin Official (in Arabic and French). Rabat. WeeklyGoogle Scholar
  2. Ashford, D. E., Political Change in Morocco. Princeton University Press, 1961CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. Decroux, P., Les sociétés au Maroc. Paris, 1950Google Scholar
  4. D’Étienne, J., and others, L’évolution sociale du Maroc, Paris, 1950Google Scholar
  5. Drague, G., Esquisse d’histoire religieuse du Maroc. Paris, 1951Google Scholar
  6. Joly, F., and others, Géographie du Maroc. Paris, 1949Google Scholar
  7. Landau, R., Moroccan Drama 1900–55. San Francisco, 1956.—Morocco Independent under Mohammed V. London, 1961.—IIassan II, King of Morocco. London. 1962Google Scholar
  8. Mercier, H., Dictionnaire arabe-français. Rabat, 1951Google Scholar
  9. Miège, J.-L., Morocco. New York, 1953Google Scholar
  10. Riyière, P. L., Recueil général des traités, codes, et lois du Maroc, 1912–23. 4 vols. Paris, 1924–25, and animal supplements.—Précis de Législation marocaine. New ed. in collaboration with G-. Catteriz. 2 vols. Caen, 1942–46Google Scholar
  11. Sonnier, E., Code des eaux du Maroc. Rabat, 1954Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1963

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg
    • 1
  1. 1.The Royal Historical SocietyUK

Personalised recommendations