• S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Paraguay gained its independence from Spain on 14 May 1811. In 1814 Dr José Caspar Rodriguez Francia was elected dictator, and in 1816 perpetual dictator, by the National Assembly. He died 20 Sept. 1840. In 1844 a new constitution was adopted, under which Carlos Antonio López (first elected in 1842) and his son, Francisco Solano López, ruled until 1870. During a devasting war against Brazil, Argentina and Uruguay (1865–70) Paraguay lost probably 500,000 men. Argentina, in Aug. 1942, and Brazil. in May 1943, voided the reparations debt imposed upon Paraguay, which Paraguay had never paid.

República del Paraguay


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Anuario Daumas. AsunciónGoogle Scholar
  2. Amiario Estadistico de la República del Paraguay. Asunción. AnnualGoogle Scholar
  3. Report of the Council of the Corporation of Foreign Bondholders. Annual. LondonGoogle Scholar
  4. Pendle, J., Paraguay, a riverside nation. R. Inst. Int. Affairs 2nd ed., 1956Google Scholar
  5. Raine, P., Paraguay. New Brunswick, N.J., 1956Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1962

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations