• S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Union of Burma came formally into existence on 4 Jan. 1948. On this day, Sir Hubert Rance, the last British Governor, handed over authority to Sao Shwe Thaike, the first President of the Burmese Republic; the Cabinet took the oath of office, and Parliament ratified the treaty with Great Britain providing for the independence of Burma as a country not within His Britannic Majesty’s dominions and not entitled to His Britannic Majesty’s protection. This treaty was signed in London on 17 Oct. 1947 and enacted by the British Parliament on 10 Dec. 1947.

Pyee-Daung-Su Myamma-Nainggan Daw


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. The Constitution of the Union of Burma. Rangoon, 1948Google Scholar
  2. Burma : Treaty between the Government of the United Kingdom and the Provisional Government of Burma. (Treaty Series No. 16, 1948.) H.M.S.O., 1948Google Scholar
  3. Cook, B. O. A., Burma. Overseas Economic Survey. April 1957. H.M.P.O., 1957Google Scholar
  4. Donnison, F. S. V., Public Administration in Burma. R. Inst. of Int. Affairs, 1963Google Scholar
  5. Furnivall, J. S., The Government of modern Burma. New York, 1958Google Scholar
  6. Mating Mating, Burma in the Family of Nations. Amsterdam, 1956.—Burma’s Constitution. The Hague, 1959Google Scholar
  7. Stewart, J. A., and Dunn, C. W., Burmese-English Dictionary. London, 1940 ff.Google Scholar
  8. Thakin Nu, Burma under the Japanese. London, 1953Google Scholar
  9. Tinker, H., The Union of Burma. Oxford Univ. Press, 1957Google Scholar
  10. Woodman, D., The Making of Burma. London, 1962Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1962

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations