Républica Oriental del Uruguay
  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT. The Republic of Uruguay formerly a part of the Spanish Viceroyalty of Rio de la Plata, and subsequently a province of Brazil, declared its independence 25 Aug. 1825 which was recognized by the treaty between Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay signed at Rio de Janeiro 27 Aug. 1828. The first constitution was adopted 18 July 1830.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. The official gazette is the Diario Oficial Statistical Reports of the Government. Montevideo. Annual and biennialGoogle Scholar
  2. Anales de Instrucción Primaria. Montevideo. QuarterlyGoogle Scholar
  3. Acedevo, Eduardo, Anales Histdricos del Uruguay. Montevideo, 1933Google Scholar
  4. Araujo, O., Diccionario Geográflco del Uruguay. 2nd edition. Montevideo, 1912Google Scholar
  5. Areas, J. A., Historia del siglo XX uruguayo, 1897–1943. Montevideo, 1960Google Scholar
  6. De Carlos, M., La escuela publico uruguaya. Montevideo, 1949Google Scholar
  7. Fernandez Saldana, José M., Diccionario Uruguayo de Biografias. Montevideo, 1945Google Scholar
  8. Fitzgibbon, R. H., Uruguay, portrait of a democracy. New Brunswick, N,J., 1954; London, 1956Google Scholar
  9. Heathcote-Smith, O. B. B., Economic and Commercial Conditions in Uruguay. H.M.S.O., 1954Google Scholar
  10. Montañés, M. T., Desarrollo de la agricultura en el Uruguay. Montevideo, 1948Google Scholar
  11. Pendle, G., Uruguay. 2nd ed. II. Inst, of Intern. Affairs, 1957Google Scholar
  12. Salgado, José, Historia de la Republica O. del Uruguay, 8 vols. Montevideo, 1943Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1961

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg
    • 1
  1. 1.The Royal Historical SocietyUK

Personalised recommendations