• S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT. The Republic of Liberia had its origin in the efforts of several American philanthropic societies to make permanent provision for freed American slaves by establishing them in a colony on the West African coast. In 1822 a settlement was formed on the west coast of Africa near the spot where Monrovia now stands. On 26 July 1847 the state was constituted as the Free and Independent Republic of Liberia. The new state was first recognized by Great Britain and France, and ultimately by other powers. The constitution of the Republic is modelled on that of the U.S. The executive power is vested in a President and Cabinet, and the legislative power in a legislature of 2 Houses, the Senate (10 members) and the House of Representatives (39 members). The President is elected for 8, the House of Representatives for 4 and the Senate for 6 years.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Brown, G. W., The Economic History of Liberia. Washington, 1941Google Scholar
  2. Cole, H. B. (ed.), The Liberian Year Book. Monrovia, 1956Google Scholar
  3. Huberich, C. H., The Political and Legislative History of Liberia. New York, 1952Google Scholar
  4. Reed, W. E., Reconnaissance Soil Survey of Liberia. Washington, 1951Google Scholar
  5. Richardson, N. R., Liberia’s Past and Present. London, 1959Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1960

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg
    • 1
  1. 1.The Royal Historical SocietyUK

Personalised recommendations