• S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The new constitution of Nicaragua of 1 Nov. 1950 vests the legislative power in a Congress of 2 Houses consisting of 42 deputies elected for 6 years, and 16 senators (plus ex-presidents of the republic, who are appointed for life) elected for 6 years, all by popular state-wide vote. The President is, nominally, elected for 6 years. Voters are males over 18 years of age who can read and write and all other males over 21. The constitution grants citizenship to women over 18 years of age who can read and write, but leaves the granting of the franchise to the decision of the legislature. Nicaragua uses the Australian ballot (i.e., not ballots printed by the political parties).

República de Nicaragua


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Pr Adolfo Lola Blen. It publishes the Anuario Estadistico and various bulletins; see A. Lola Bien, Actividades Estadisticas en Nicaragua (1954).Google Scholar
  2. Report of the Collector-General of Custom) and High Commission. Managua. AnnualGoogle Scholar
  3. Palmer, Mervyn G., Through Unknown Nicaragua. London, 1945Google Scholar
  4. Portas, S. J. Bernado, Compendia de la historia de Nicaragua. Managua, 1918Google Scholar
  5. Tweedy, M., This is Nicaragua. Ipswich, 1953.Google Scholar
  6. National Library. Biblioteca Naclonal, Managua, D.H. Director: Dr Bamón Bornera.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1959

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations