• S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Cuba, except for a brief period of British occupancy in 1762–63, remained a Spanish possession from the date of its discovery by Columbus in 1492 until 10 Dec. 1898, when the sovereignty was relinquished under the terms of the Treaty of Paris, which ended the armed intervention of the U.S.A. in the struggle of the Cubans against Spanish rule. Cuba thus became an independent state, but the United States stipulated that Cuba must enter into no treaty relations with a foreign power, which might endanger its independence. A convention which assembled on 6 Nov. 1900 drew up a constitution which was adopted 21 Feb. 1901, under which the island assumed a republican form of government, with a President, Vice-President, a Senate and a House of Representatives. Havana is the capital.

República de Cuba


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Anuario Estadistico de la República de Cuba. Havana. 1914, 1953 (these only)Google Scholar
  2. Estadítica General: Comereio Exterior. Quarterly and Annual. Movimiento de Poblacion. Monthly and Annual. HavanaGoogle Scholar
  3. Anuario atucarero de Cuba. Havana, from 1937Google Scholar
  4. International Bank, Economio and Technical Mission, Report on Cuba. Washington, D.C. 1951Google Scholar
  5. Canet, G., and Raisz, E., Atlas de Cuba. Cambridge, Mass., 1949Google Scholar
  6. Guerra y Sanchez, B., and others, Historia de la Nación Cubana. 10 vols. Havana, 1952.Google Scholar
  7. Johnson, W. F., History of Cuba. 5 vols. New York, 1920Google Scholar
  8. Massip, Salvador, and Massip, Sarah E. Y. de, Introductión a la Geografía de Cuba. Vol. I, Geografia fisica. Havana, 1942Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1959

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations