• S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Principality of Liechtenstein, situated between the Austrian province of Vorarlberg and the Swiss cantons of St Gallen and Graubünden, is a sovereign state whoso history dates back to 3 May 1342, when Count Hartmann I became ruler of the Principality of Vaduz. Additions were later on made to the count’s domains, and by 1434 the territory reached its present boundaries. It consists of the two counties of Schellenberg and Vaduz (until 1806 immediate fiefs of the Roman Empire). The former in 1699 and the latter in 1712 came into the possession of the house of Liechtenstein and, by diploma of 23 Jan. 1719, granted by the Emperor Charles VI, the two counties were constituted as the Principality of Liechtenstein.

Books of Reference

  1. Rechenschaftsbericht der fürstlichen liechtensteinischen Regierung. Vaduz. Annual, from 1922 Jahrbücher des Historischen Vereins. Vaduz. Annual since 1900Google Scholar
  2. Hiltbrunner, H., Das Fürstentum Liechtenstein. Zürich, 1945Google Scholar
  3. Liechtenstein, Eduard Prinz von. Liechtensteins Weg von Österreich sur Schweiz. Vaduz, 1946Google Scholar
  4. Raton, P., Les Institutions de la Principauté de Liechtenstein. Paris, 1949Google Scholar
  5. Schaedler, E., Fürstentum Liechtenstein. Vaduz, 1953–56Google Scholar
  6. Steger, G., Fürst und Landtag nach Liechtensteinischem Recht. Vaduz, 1950Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1958

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations