República de Nicaragua
  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The new constitution of Nicaragua of 1 Nov., 1950, vests the legislative power in a Congress of 2 Houses consisting of 42 deputies elected for 6 years, and 16 senators (plus ex-presidents of the republic, who are appointed for life) elected for 6 years, all by popular statewide vote. The President is, nominally, elected for 6 years. Voters are males over 18 years of age who can read and write and all other males over 21. The constitution grants citizenship to women over 18 years of age who can read and write, but leaves the granting of the franchise to the decision of the legislature. Nicaragua uses the Australian ballot (i.e., not ballots printed by the political parties).


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. STATISTICAL INFORMATION.—Each of the statistical offices set up in 1835, 1861 and 1905 functioned only for a few years. The present Dirección General de Estadistica y Gensos (Managua, D.N.) was set up in 1931 as part of the Ministerio de Economia; Director General: Dr. Adolfo Lola Blen. It publishes the Anuario Estadistico and various bulletins; see A. Lola Blen, Actividades Estadisticas en Nicaragua (1954).Google Scholar
  2. Report of the Collector-General of Customs and High Commission. Managua. Annual.Google Scholar
  3. Portas (S. J. Bernardo), Compendio de la historia de Nicaragua. Managua, 1918.Google Scholar
  4. NATIONAL LIBRARY.—Biblioteca Nacional, Managua, D.N. Director; Dr. Ramón Romero.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1956

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations