• S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Cuba, except for a brief period of British occupancy in 1762–63, remained a Spanish possession from the date of its discovery by Columbus in 1492 until 10 Dec., 1898, when the sovereignty was relinquished under the terms of the Treaty of Paris, which ended the armed intervention of the United States in the struggle of the Cubans against Spanish rule. Cuba thus became an independent state. A convention which assembled on 5 Nov., 1900, drew up a constitution which was adopted 21 Feb., 1901, under which the island assumed a republican form of government, with a President, Vice-President, a Senate and a House of Representatives.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Annuario Estadistico de la Republica de Cuba. Havana. 1914, 1953 (these only).Google Scholar
  2. Estadistica General: Comercio Exterior. Quarterly and Annual.—Hovimiento de Poblaciòn, Monthly and Annual. Havana.Google Scholar
  3. Anuario azucarero de Cuba. Havana, from 1937.Google Scholar
  4. Bishop (C. M.) and Marchant (A.), Guide to the Law and Legal Literature of Cuba, the Dominican Republic and Haiti. Library of Congress. Washington, D.C., 1944.Google Scholar
  5. Canet (G.) and Raisz (E.), Atlas de Cuba. Cambridge, Mass., 1949.Google Scholar
  6. Guerra y Sanchez (R.) and others, Historia de la Nación Cubana. 10 vols. Havana, 1952.Google Scholar
  7. Johnson (W. F.), History of Cuba. 5 vols. New York, 1920.Google Scholar
  8. Massip (Salvador) and Massip (Sarah E. Y. de), Introduccion a la Geografia de Cuba. vol. I, Geograña fisioa. Havana, 1942.Google Scholar
  9. Stephens (P. S.), Economic and Commercial Conditions in Cuba. H.M.S.O., 1954.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1956

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations