The Commonwealth

  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


CONSTITUTION. The Commonwealth of Nations consists of the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, Ceylon, Ghana, Nigeria, Cyprus, Sierra Leone, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, Kenya, Malaysia, Tanzania, Malawi, Malta, Zambia, The Gambia, Singapore, Guyana; their Colonies and Protectorates ; and their Territories under Trusteeship.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. The Cambridge History of the British Empire. 8 vols. CUP, 1029 ff.Google Scholar
  2. Economic Survey of the Colonial Territories. 7 vols. HMSO, 1952 ff.Google Scholar
  3. Colonial Research. HMSOGoogle Scholar
  4. Quarterly Digest of Colonial Statistics. HMSOGoogle Scholar
  5. Colonial Territories. HMSOGoogle Scholar
  6. Bradley, K. (ed.), The Living Commonwealth. London, 1961Google Scholar
  7. Burns, Sir Alan, In Defence of Colonies. London, 1957Google Scholar
  8. Casey, Lord, The Future of the Commonwealth. London, 1963Google Scholar
  9. Hailey, Lord, An African Survey. Rev. ed. Oxford, 1957.Google Scholar
  10. Native Administration in the British African Territories. 5 vols. HMSO, 1951 ff.Google Scholar
  11. Jeffries, Sir C., The Colonial Office. London, 1956Google Scholar
  12. Keeton, G. W. (ed.), The British Commonwealth: its laws and constitutions, 9 vols. London, 1951 ff.Google Scholar
  13. Kuczynski, E. R., Demographic Survey of the British Colonial Empire. 3 vols. London, New York, Toronto, 1948–53Google Scholar
  14. Maxwell, W. H. and Maxwell L. F., A Legal Bibliography of the British Commonwealth of Nations. 2nd ed. London, 1956Google Scholar
  15. Paterson, A. D., Handbook of Commonwealth Organizations. London, 1965Google Scholar
  16. Wade, E. O. S., and Phillips, G. G., Constitutional Law: an outline of the law and practice of the constitution, including central and local government and the constitutional relations of the British Commonwealth and Empire. 6th ed. London, 1960Google Scholar
  17. Walker, P. Gordon, The Commonwealth. London, 1962Google Scholar
  18. Wheare, K. C., The Statute of Westminster and Dominion Status. 5th ed. Oxford, 1953.Google Scholar
  19. Constitutional Structure of the Commonwealth. Oxford, 1960Google Scholar
  20. Wiseman, V. H., The Cabinet in the Commonwealth. London, 1958Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1955

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg
    • 1
  1. 1.The Rofal Historical SocietyUK

Personalised recommendations