• S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. The territory, including the counties of Demerara, Essequibo and Berbice, named from the 3 rivers, was first partially settled by the Dutch West Indian Company about 1620. The Dutch retained their hold until 1796, when it was captured by the English. It was finally ceded to Great Britain in 1814.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Annual Report, 1962. HMSO, 1963Google Scholar
  2. Newman, l’., British Guiana—Problem of cohesion in an immigrant Society. OUP, 1964Google Scholar
  3. Roth, V., Handbook of Natural Resources of British Guiana. Georgetown, 1946Google Scholar
  4. Smith, R. T., The Negro Family in British Guiana. London, 1956.—British Guiana. OUP, 1962Google Scholar
  5. Swan, M., British Guiana. HMSO, 1957Google Scholar
  6. Report of the British Guiana Commission of Inquiry of the International Commission of Jurists on Racial Problems in the Public Service. Geneva, 1965Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1955

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg
    • 1
  1. 1.The Rofal Historical SocietyUK

Personalised recommendations