Arabian States

  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Arabian peninsula comprises two member states of the United Nations, viz. Saudi Arabia and the Yemen, the independent Sultanate of Muscat and Oman, the British Colony and protectorate of Aden, and the British protected states of Bahrain, Kuwait, the Trucial Shaikhdoms and Qatar.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Miles (S. B.), Countries and Tribes of the Persian Gulf. London, 1919.Google Scholar
  2. Thesiger (W.), Desert Borderlands of Oman. Geographical Journal, 116, 1950.Google Scholar

Books of Reference concerning Arabi

  1. Faroughy (A.), The Bahrein Islands. New York, 1951.Google Scholar
  2. Ingrams (H.), Arabia and the Isles. 2nd ed. London, 1952.Google Scholar
  3. Meulen D. Van der), Aden to the Hadramaut. London, 1947.Google Scholar
  4. Pearn (N. S.), Quest for Sheba. London, 1937.Google Scholar
  5. Philby (St. J.), Arabian Highlands. Cornell Univ. Press, 1952.Google Scholar
  6. Rathjens (C.) and Wissmann (H. von), Südarabien-Reise. 3 vols. Hamburg, 1934.Google Scholar
  7. Stark (Freya), The Southern Gates of Arabia. London, 1936.—A Winter in Arabia. London, 1940.Google Scholar
  8. Tweedy (M.), Bahrain and the Persian Gulf. Ipswich, 1952.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1954

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations