República de Honduras
  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


In 1838 Honduras declared itself an independent sovereign state, free from the Federation of Central America, of which it had formed a part. The present constitution became effective in 1936. Legislative power is vested in a single chamber, the Congress of Deputies, consisting of 49 members, chosen for 6 years by popular vote, in the ratio of one per 25,000 inhabitants. It meets for 60 days (may be extended to 100 days) on 5 Dec. each year. A Permanent Commission of 5 members sits whilst Congress is not in session for the transaction of routine or emergency business. The President of the Republic is elected by popular vote for 6 years, holding office from 1 Jan. In March, 1937, the Congress of Deputies extended its own term to 4 Dec, 1942, and subsequently to 1949.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Ouestión de limites entre Honduras y Guatemala. Ventilada ante el Gobiemo Mediador de los Estados Unidos de América. Vol. 3. New York, 1918.Google Scholar
  2. Banco Central de Honduras: Monthly Bulletin.Google Scholar
  3. Quinones (A. B.), Geografia e Historia de Honduras. Choluteca, 1927.Google Scholar
  4. Reyna (G. B.), Honduras. Tegucigalpa, 1930.Google Scholar
  5. Rivas (Pedro), Geographical, Historical and Etymological Dictionary of Honduras. Tegucigalpa, 1919.Google Scholar
  6. Stockley (G. E.), Economic and Commercial Conditions in Honduras. May, 1951. H.M.S.O., 1951.Google Scholar
  7. Stokes (W. S.), Honduras: an area study in government. Madison, Wise., 1950.Google Scholar
  8. Von Hagen (V. W.), Jungle in the Clouds. London, 1945.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1954

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations