República De Nicaragua
  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The new constitution of Nicaragua of 1 Nov., 1950, vests the legislative power in a Congress of 2 Houses consisting of 42 deputies elected for 6 years, and 16 senators (plus ex-presidents of the republic, who are appointed for life) elected for 6 years, all by popular vote. The President is, nominally, elected for 6 years. The constitution grants citizenship to women over 18 years of age who can read and write, but leaves the granting of the franchise to the decision of the legislature.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Annuario Estadistico. (Direcclón General de Estadistica.) Managua.Google Scholar
  2. Cumberland (W. W.), Nicaragua: An Economic and Financial Survey. Report to U.S. State Department. Washington, 1928.Google Scholar
  3. Report of the Collector-General of Customs and High Commission. Managua. Annual.Google Scholar
  4. Portas (S. J. Bernardo), Compendio de la historia de Nicaragua. Managua, 1918.Google Scholar
  5. Stimson (H. L.), American Policy In Nicaragua. New York, 1927.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1953

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations