El Salvador

República de El Salvador
  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Constitution and Government.—In 1839 the Central American Federation, which had comprised the states of Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica, was dissolved, and El Salvador became an independent republic. Plans for a gradual federation with Guatemala were discussed between the presidents of both countries in March, 1945. A new constitution was promulgated 20 Jan., 1939, but in Nov., 1945, the 1886 constitution was reinstated though with numerous amendments. Legislative power is vested in a single Chamber, the National Assembly, consisting of 52 deputies, elected for 2 years by universal suffrage. Large powers are vested in the President, whose term is for 6 years; normally he cannot succeed himself. He has a cabinet of 10 members. Women in 1945 were conceded a limited suffrage, but in 19.50 universal male and female suffrage was introduced for the elections of the president and the National Assembly.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Anuario Estadistico. First year, 1911. San Salvador. Annual.Google Scholar
  2. Boletin de la Auditoria General de la Republica. San Salvador. Annual.Google Scholar
  3. Corporation of Foreign Bondholders. Annual Report of Council. London.Google Scholar
  4. Angel Gallardo (M.), Cuatro Oonstituciones Federales de Centre America y Las Constituciones políticas de El Salvador. San Salvador, 1945.Google Scholar
  5. Anguello (M.) El Salvador: Tourists’ Guide. San Salvador, 1928.Google Scholar
  6. Vogt (W.), The Population of El Salvador and its Natural Resources. Washington, D.O., 1946.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1952

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations