República Oriental del Uruguay
  • S. H Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Uruguay, formerly a part of the Spanish Viceroyalty of Rio de la Plata, and subsequently a province of Brazil, declared its independence 25 August, 1825, which was recognized by the treaty between Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay, signed at Rio de Janeiro 27 August, 1828. The first constitution was adopted 18 July, 1830.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference concerning Uruguay.

  1. The official gazette is the Diario Oficial.Google Scholar
  2. Statistical Reports of the Government. Montevideo. Annual and biennial.Google Scholar
  3. Anales de Instruccion Primaria. Montevideo. Quarterly.Google Scholar
  4. Department of Overseas Trade Reports. Annual Series. London.Google Scholar
  5. Acedevo (Eduardo), Manual de historia Uruguaya. Tomo 1, Abarca los tiempos heroicos, desde la conquista del territorio por los españoles, hasta la cruzada de los Trienta y Tres orientales. Montevideo, 1916.—Anales Historicos del Uruguay. Montevideo, 1933.Google Scholar
  6. Araújo (O.), Diccionario Geográfico del Uruguay. 2nd edition. Montevideo, 1912.— El libro de ‘El Siglo.’ Montevideo, 1913.Google Scholar
  7. Hanson (S. G.), Utopia in Uruguay. Oxford, 1938.Google Scholar
  8. Martinez Lamas (J.), Riqueza y Pobreza del Uruguay. Montevideo, 1930.Google Scholar
  9. Salgodo (José), Historia de la Republica O. del Uruguay. 8 vols. Montevideo, 1943.Google Scholar
  10. Vivar (Oscar Diazde), La Constitucion Uruguaya de 1934 Buenos Aires, 1935.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1948

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations