(República de Guatemala.)
  • M. Epstein
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Guatemala was established on April 17, 1839, after having formed for eighteen years part of the Confederation of Central America. The present Constitution came into effect January 1, 1928. The legislative power is vested in a single-chambered National Assembly, consisting of 74 representatives (one for every 30,000 inhabitants) chosen by direct popular vote for 4 years. In addition a Council of State of 7 members, 3 elected by the National Assembly, and 4 appointed by the President of the Republic, has supervision of public concessions and contracts, and large advisory powers. The President is normally elected for 6 years, and barred from re-election for a period of 12 years, but President Ubico’s term, which expired in 1937, was, as the result of a plebiscite held in June, 1935, and through an amendment to the Constitution in September, 1941, extended to March 15, 1949.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1944

Authors and Affiliations

  • M. Epstein

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations