• M. Epstein
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Constitution and Government—In 1839 the Central American Federation, which had comprised the States of Guatemala, Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica, was dissolved, and Salvador became an independent Republic. Its Constitution, proclaimed in 1824 under the Federation, and frequently modified down to 1886, vests the legislative power in a single Chamber of 42 Deputies, 3 for each department, elected for one year by universal suffrage. A new Constitution, giving large powers to the President, was adopted on January 20, 1939.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1939

Authors and Affiliations

  • M. Epstein

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations