• M. Epstein
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


In 1838 Honduras declared itself an independent sovereign state, free from the Federation of Central America, of which it had formed a part. The present Constitution became effective in 1936. Legislative power is vested in a single chamber, the Congress of Deputies, consisting of 38 members, chosen for 6 years by popular vote, in the ratio of one per 25,000 inhabitants. It meets for 60 days (may be extended to 100 days) on December 5 each year. A Permanent Commission of five members sits whilst Congress is not in session for the transaction of routine or emergency business. The President is elected by popular vote for 4 years, holding office from January 1. In March, 1937, the Congress of Deputies extended its own term to December 4, 1942, and that of the President to January 1, 1943.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1939

Authors and Affiliations

  • M. Epstein

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations