• M. Epstein
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Mexico was annexed to the Spanish Crown by conquest in 1521, and for three centuries continued to be governed by Spain. In all 62 Spanish Viceroys ruled the Courts, from Antonio de Mendoza (1535–1550) to Juan O’Donojú (1821–1822). In 1810 the rule of the Spanish Viceroys had become so tyrannical that it caused an outbreak headed by the patriot priest Miguel Hidalgo, who on September 16, 1810, proclaimed the Independence of Mexico. On May 19, 1822, General Augustin Iturbide declared himself Emperor of Mexico, but in 1824 he had to flee, and the Republic was established. Several Presidents (Felix Fernandez Victoria, 1824–28, was the first) ruled the destinies of the country with more or less severity until 1864, when the throne of Mexico was offered to Archduke Ferdinand Maximilian of Austria. He was shot in 1867, and Benito Juarez, who had been President in the northern part of the country, took the reins of government. He was followed by Lerdo de Tejada, who in 1876 fled, and General Porfirio Diaz (died July 2, 1915) made his entry into Mexico City. He ruled the country with the exception of four years (1880–4, General Manuel Gonzalez) until May 25,1911, when he presented his resignation to Congress. On November 6, 1911, Señor Francisco I. Madero assumed office as President and ruled until February, 1913, when a coups d’état took place, resulting in the President’s murder (February 23, 1913) and his replacement by General Victoriano Huerta.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1928

Authors and Affiliations

  • M. Epstein

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations