• M. Epstein
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


An Act was passed in 1920 under which separate Parliaments were set up for “Southern Ireland” (26 counties) and “Northern Ireland” (6 counties). The Ulster Unionists accepted this scheme, and the Northern Parliament was duly elected on May 24. 1921, and opened by the King in person in the following June. The rest of Ireland, however, having proclaimed a Republic in January 1919 refused to work the Act In December 1921 a treaty was signed with the British Government which was embodied in the Irish Free State (As reement) Act, 1922.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1928

Authors and Affiliations

  • M. Epstein

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations