Canadian Provinces

  • M. Epstein
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Constitution of Alberta is contained in the British North America Act of 1867, and amending Acts; also in the Alberta Act of 1905, passed by the Parliament of the Dominion of Canada, creating the province. In the British North America Act, provision was made for the admission of the new provinces from time to time, including the then North-West Territories, of which the present province of Alberta formed a large portion. Upon the granting of autonomy to the North-West Territories, Alberta and Saskatchewan were erected into provinces, and all the provisions of the British North America Act, except those with respect to schools, lands, and the public domain, were made to apply to Alberta as they apply to the older provinces of Canada. The province is represented by 6 members in the Senate and 16 in the House of Commons of Canada.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1927

Authors and Affiliations

  • M. Epstein

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations