(República de Panamá.)
  • M. Epstein
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Panama, formerly a department of the Republic of Colombia, asserted its independence on November 3, 1903, and the de facto Government was on November 13 recognised by the Government of the United States, and soon afterwards by the other Powers. In 1914 Colombia, in virtue of the Treaty of Bogota entered into with the United States (see under Colombia), undertook to agree to recognise the independence of Panama. This Treaty was ratified by the United States and Colombia in 1921. On May 8, 1924, a Protocol was signed at Washington by the Panama and Colombian Plenipotentiaries by which diplomatic relations between the two countries were established, and on May 15, 1924, each country nominated its representatives to the other.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1927

Authors and Affiliations

  • M. Epstein

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations