Santo Domingo

(República Dominicana.)
  • John Scott Keltie
  • M. Epstein
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Santo Domingo, founded in 1844, is governed under a Constitution bearing date November 18, 1844, re-proclaimed, with changes, at various dates in 1879, 1880, 1881, 1887, 1896, and 1908. By the Constitution of 1908 the legislative power of the Republic is vested in a National Congress, consisting of a Senate of 12 senators and a Chamber of Deputies of 24 members. These representatives are remunerated at the rate of 4.80l. per annum each. Each province is represented by one senator and (in practice) by two deputies. Senators are elected for six years, one-third retiring every two years, and deputies for a period of four years, one-half retiring every two years. But the powers of the National Congress only embrace the general affairs of the Republic.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Statistical and other Books of Reference concerning Santo Domingo

  1. Constitucion Politica de la Republica Dominicana. San Domingo, 1896.Google Scholar
  2. Foreign Office Reports, Annual Series. London.Google Scholar
  3. Monthly Bulletin of the Bureau of the American Republics. Washington.Google Scholar
  4. Report of the American Commissioner to Santo Domingo. Washington, 1905.Google Scholar
  5. Report of the Council of the Corporation of Foreign Bondholders. Annual. London.Google Scholar
  6. Abad (José Ramon), La Republica Dominicana, rescna general gcográhco-estadistica. Santo Domingo, 1889.Google Scholar
  7. Deschamps (K.), La Republica Dominicana, Directorio y Guia General. 1907.Google Scholar
  8. Garcia (José Gabriel), Compendio do la historia de Santo Domingo Revised ed. 3 vols. Santo Domingo, 1896. [Brings the history down to July, 1865.]Google Scholar
  9. Hazard (S.), Santo Domingo, Past, and Present. London, 1873.Google Scholar
  10. Logroño (A.), Compendio Didáctico de Historia Fatria. Vol. I. Santo Domingo, 1912. [Up to 1844.]Google Scholar
  11. Merino (Padre), Elementos de geografía física, politicaé histórica de la República Dominicana. Santo Domingo, 1889.Google Scholar
  12. Moreau de Saint-Méry (M. L. E.), Description Topographique, Physique, Civile. Politique et Historique de la Partié Espagnole de l’Ile de Saint Domingue. Philadelphia, 1799. [Probably the standard work on öpanish Santo Domingo.]Google Scholar
  13. Monte y Tejada (Antonio), Historia de Santo Domingo. Completed ed., bringing the history down to 1821. 4 vols. Santo Domingo, 1890.Google Scholar
  14. Ober (F. A.), In the Track of Columbus. Boston, Mass., 1893.Google Scholar
  15. Schönrich (Otto), Santo Domingo; The Country with a Future. New York, 1919.Google Scholar
  16. Stoddart (T. L.), The French Revolution in San Domingo. New York, 1915.Google Scholar
  17. Tippenhauer, Die Insel Hayti. Leipzig, 1893.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1919

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Scott Keltie
  • M. Epstein

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations