República Boliviana
  • J. Scott Keltie
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Constitution of the Republic of Bolivia (so named in 1825) bears date October 28, 1880. By its provisions the executive power is vested in a President, elected for a term of four years by direct popular vote, and not eligible for re-election; there is a Congress of two chambers, called the Senate and the Chamber of Deputies. The suffrage is possessed by all who can read and write. There are 16 Senators (2 for each Department) elected for six years, and 75 Deputies elected for four years. Both Senators and Deputies are elected by direct vote of the people. Of the Senators one-third retire every two years; of the Deputies one-half retire every two years. Senators receive a salary of 500 bolivianos (40l.) per month during the sittings, which, as a rule, last for 60 days, but may be extended to 90 days, and Deputies receive £3 for each day they attend. Extraordinary sessions may be held for special purposes. There are a President, two Vice-Presidents and a ministry, divided into six departments—of Foreign Relations and Worship; Finance; Government and Public Works; Justice and Industry; War and Colonisation; and Education and Agriculture.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Statistical and other Books of Reference concerning Bolivia

1. Official Publications

  1. The official publications are chiefly those of the Departments of Finance and Industry, of Foreign Affairs, of Immigration and Statistics; the commission for the delimitation of the boundary towards Brazil.Google Scholar
  2. Constitueion Politica de la República de Bolivia. La Paz, 1902.Google Scholar
  3. Bolivia. International Bureau of the American Republics. Washington, 1904.Google Scholar
  4. Brazil and Bolivia. Treaty for the Exchange of Territories and other Complications. Signed November 17,1903. New York, 1904.Google Scholar

2. Non-Official Publications

  1. Ahumada Moreno (P.), Guerra del Paciflco. 6 torn. Vãlparaiso, 1884–89.Google Scholar
  2. Ballivian (Manuel V.) and Idíáquez (Eduardo), Diccionario Geográflco de la República de Bolivia. La Paz, 1890.— B. and Zarco (J.), Mouografias de la Industria Minera. I. Oro; II. Plata; III. Estaño. La Paz, 1899–1900.Google Scholar
  3. Blanco (F.), Diccionario Geográflco de la República de Bolivia. 2 vols. La Paz, 1901. In progress.Google Scholar
  4. Blanco (P. A.), Diccionario geográflco del Departamento de Oruro. La Paz, 1904.Google Scholar
  5. Bonelli (L. H. de), Travels in Bolivia. 2 vols. London, 1854.Google Scholar
  6. Conway (Sir M.), The Bolivian Andes. London, 1901.Google Scholar
  7. Crespo (Luis S.), Geografla de Bolivia. La Paz, 1905.— Guia del viajero en Bolivia. La Paz, 1908.Google Scholar
  8. D’Orbigny (A.), Voyages dans l’Amérique Méridionale. 9 vols. Paris, 1835–47Google Scholar
  9. Keane (A. H.), Central and South America. In Stanford’s Compendium of Geography and Travel. Second edition. London, 1909.Google Scholar
  10. Mathews (Edward D.), Up the Amazon and Madeira Rivers, through Bolivia and Peru. London, 1879.Google Scholar
  11. Matzenauer (C.), Bolivia in historischer, geogr. und culturelier Hinsicht. Vienna, 1897.Google Scholar
  12. Paz Soldan (M. F.), Narracion de guerra de Chile contra Perú y Bolivia. La Paz. 1884.Google Scholar
  13. Saavedra (B.), El Litigio Peru-Boliviano. La paz, 1903.Google Scholar
  14. Sociedad Geográfica de Sucre. Diccionario geográflco del Departmento de Chuquisaca, Sucre, 1903.Google Scholar
  15. Suarez (Coi. Pedro), Notes on Bolivia. London, 1902.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1912

Authors and Affiliations

  • J. Scott Keltie

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations