Santo Domingo

  • J. Scott Keltie
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Constitution and Government.—The Republic of Santo Domingo, founded in 1844, is governed under a Constitution bearing date November 18, 1844, re-proclaimed, with changes, at various dates in 1879, 1880, 1881, 1887, 1896, and 1908. By the Constitution of 1908 the legislative power of the Republic is vested in a National Congress, consisting of a Senate of 12 senators and a Chamber of Deputies of 24 members. There is one senator for each province, and the deputies are elected by the provinces in proportion to the number of their inhabitants. The members are chosen by indirect vote, in the ratio of two for each province and two for each district, for the term of four years. But the powers of the National Congress only embrace the general affairs of the Republic.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Statistical and other Books of Reference concerning Santo Domingo.

  1. Constitucion Politica de la Republica Dominicana. San Domingo, 1896.Google Scholar
  2. Foreign Office Reports, Annual Series. London.Google Scholar
  3. Monthly Bulletin of the Bureau of the American Republics. Washington.Google Scholar
  4. Report of the American Commissioner to Santo Domingo. Washington, 1905.Google Scholar
  5. Report of the Council of the Corporation of Foreign Bondholders. Annual. London.Google Scholar
  6. Abad (José Ramon), La República Dominicana, resefia general geográfico-estadistica. Santo Domingo, 1889.Google Scholar
  7. Deschamps (E.), La Republica Dominicana, Director y Guia General. 1907.Google Scholar
  8. Garcia (José Gabriel), Compendio de la historia de Santo Domingo Revised ed. 3 vols.Google Scholar
  9. Santo Domingo, 1896. [Brings the history down to July, 1865. The same author has another work, virtually a continuation of the Compendio, in the press.]Google Scholar
  10. Garrison (F. L.), The Island of Santo Domingo. Cassier’s Mag., Sept., 1906.Google Scholar
  11. Jordan (Wilhelm), Geschichte der Insel Haiti. 2 vols. Leipzig, 1849.Google Scholar
  12. Merino (Padre), Blementos de geografia fisica, politica é historica de la Republica Dominicana. Santo Domingo, 1889.Google Scholar
  13. Monte y Tejada (Antonio), Historia de Santo Domingo. Completed ed., bringing the history down to 1821. 4 vols. Santo Domingo, 1890.Google Scholar
  14. Ober (F. A.), In the Track of Columbus. Boston, Mass., 1698.Google Scholar
  15. Saint Remi, Vie de Toussaint Louverture. Paris, 1850.Google Scholar
  16. Tippenhauer, Die Insel Hayti. Leipzig, 1893.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1910

Authors and Affiliations

  • J. Scott Keltie

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations