República Oriental del Uruguay
  • J. Scott Keltie
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Uruguay, formerly a part of the viceroyalty of Spain, and subsequently a province of Brazil, declared its independence August 25, 1825, which was recognised by the Treaty of Montevideo, signed August 27, 1828. The Constitution of the Republic was sworn July 18, 1830. By the terms of this charter, the legislative power is in a Parliament, composed of two Houses, the Senate and the Chamber of Representatives, which meet in annual session, extending from February 15 to July 15. In the interval of the session, a permanent committee of two senators and five members of the Lower House assume the legislative power, as well as the general control of the administration. The representatives are chosen for three years, in the proportion of 1 to every 3,000 inhabitants of male adults who can read and write. The senators are chosen by an Electoral College, whose members are directly elected by the people; there is one senator for each department, chosen for six years, one-third retiring every two years. There are 69 representatives and 19 senators.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference Concerning Uruguay

  1. Agricola Estadística de la Republica en el año 1901. Montevideo.Google Scholar
  2. Annual Statement of the Trade of the United Kingdom with Foreign Countries and British Possessions. Imp. 4. London.Google Scholar
  3. Anuario demográfico de la Republica Oriental del Uruguay. Montevideo.Google Scholar
  4. Anuario estadístico de la República Oriental del Uruguay. Montevideo.Google Scholar
  5. Comercio exterior de la República Oriental del Uruguay. Montevideo, annual. Diario oficial.Google Scholar
  6. Estadistica Escolar de la Republica. Montevideo, annual.Google Scholar
  7. Estudio de los Ferro-Carriles que ligarán las Republicas Americanas. Por J. J. Gastro. Montevideo, 1898.Google Scholar
  8. Foreign Office Reports. Annual Series. 8. London.Google Scholar
  9. Handbook of Uruguay. Bulletin No. 61 of the Bureau of the American Republics. Washington. 1892.Google Scholar
  10. La República Oriental del Uruguay. Por Ramon Lopez Lomba. Montevideo, 1884.Google Scholar
  11. Roustan (Honoré), and Pena (C. M. de), La Republica Oriental del Uruguay en la Exposicion Universal Colombiano de Chicago. Montevideo, 1893.Google Scholar
  12. The Uruguay Republic: Territory and Conditions. Reprinted by authority of the Consul-General of Uruguay. London, 1888.Google Scholar
  13. Bauza (Francisco), História de la domínacion española en el Uruguay. Montevideo, 1880.Google Scholar
  14. Keane (A. H.), Central and South America. In Stanford’s Compendium of Geography and Travel, London, 1901.Google Scholar
  15. Memoria por el Inspector Nacional de Instruccion Primaria. Montevideo. 1896.Google Scholar
  16. Mulhall (M. G. and E. T.), Handbook of the River Plate. 8. London, 1885.Google Scholar
  17. Murray (Rev. J. H.), Travels in Uruguay, S. America. 8. London, 1871.Google Scholar
  18. Palgrave (W. G.), Ulysses [chapter entitled ‘From Montevideo to Paraguay’]. 8. London, 1887.Google Scholar
  19. Review of the River Plate. Weekly. Buenos Aires.Google Scholar
  20. Rumbold (Sir H.), The Great Silver River. London, 1888Google Scholar
  21. Uruguay: its Geography, History, Industries, &c. [Author not named]. Liverpool, 1897.Google Scholar
  22. Vincent (Frank), Round and About South America. New York, 1890.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1904

Authors and Affiliations

  • J. Scott Keltie

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations