New Zealand

  • Frederick Martin
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The present form of government for New Zealand was established by statute 15 & 16 Vict. cap. 72. By the terms of this charter, the legislative power is vested in the Governor and a Parliament of two Chambers, the first called the Legislative Council, and the second the House of Representatives. The Legislative Council consists at present of forty members, nominated by the Crown for life, and the House of Representatives of seventy-six members, elected by the people for five years. Every owner of a freehold worth 50l., or tenant householder, in the country at 5l., in the towns at 10l. a year rent, is qualified both to vote for, or to be a member of, the House of Representatives. The executive is vested in a governor, appointed by the Crown.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1870

Authors and Affiliations

  • Frederick Martin

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations