Dominion of Canada
  • Frederick Martin
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Dominion of Canada consists of the provinces of Ontario, Quebec—formerly Upper and Lower Canada—Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick. They were united by an Act of the Imperial Parliament, passed in March, 1867, known and cited as ‘The British North America Act, 1867,’ and which came into operation on the 1st July, 1867, by royal proclamation. The Act orders that the constitution of the Dominion shall be ‘similar in principle to that of the United Kingdom that the executive authority shall be vested in the sovereign of Great Britain and Ireland, and carried on in her name by a Governor-general and Privy Council; and that the legislative power shall be exercised by a Parliament of two Houses, called the ‘Senate,’ and ‘the House of Commons.’ Provision is made in the Act for the admission of Newfoundland, British Columbia, Vancouver’s Island, and the remaining provinces and territories of British North America, into the Dominion of Canada.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Statistical and other Books of Reference concerning Canada and British North America

1. Official Publications

  1. Summary and comparative statements of the Imports and Exports of Canada, for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1868. Presented to both Houses of Parliament. 8. Ottawa, 1869.Google Scholar
  2. Annual Statement of the Trade and Navigation of the United Kingdom with Foreign Countries and British Possessions for the year 1S68. Fol. London, 1869.Google Scholar
  3. Statistical Tables relating to the Colonial and other Possessions of the United Kingdom. Part XIII. Fol. London, 1869.Google Scholar
  4. Statistical Abstract for the several Colonial and other Possessions of tho United Kingdom. No. V. 8. London, 1809.Google Scholar
  5. Correspondence relative to the proposed Union of the British North American Provinces. London, 1865.Google Scholar
  6. Further Correspondence relative to the proposed Union of the British North American Provinces. London, 1866.Google Scholar

2. Non-Official Publications

  1. Canadian Almanac and Repository of Useful Knowledge. 8. Toronto, 1869.Google Scholar
  2. Faillon (Abbé) Histoire de la Colonie Française en Canada. 2 vols. Fol. Montreal, 1865.Google Scholar
  3. Howe (Hon. Joseph), Confederation considered in relation to the interests of the Empire. 8. London, 1866.Google Scholar
  4. Hunt (F. Sterry) Canada: a Geographical, Agricultural, and Mineralogical Sketch. Published by authority of the Bureau of Agriculture, for distribution at the Dublin Exhibition. Toronto, 1865.Google Scholar
  5. Macfie (Matthew) Vancouver Island and British Columbia; their History, Resources, and Prospects. 8. London, 1865.Google Scholar
  6. Monro (Alex.), History, Geography, and Statistics of British North America. 12. Montreal, 1864.Google Scholar
  7. Rowlings (Thomas) The Confederation of the British North American Provinces: their Past History and Future Prospects. 8. London, 1866.Google Scholar
  8. Russell (Wm. Henry) Canada: its Defences, Condition and Resources. S. London, 1865.Google Scholar
  9. Year-Book and Almanac of Canada for 1869, being an Annual Statistical Abstract for the Dominion, and a Record of Legislation in British North America. 8. Pp. 161. Montreal, 1869.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1870

Authors and Affiliations

  • Frederick Martin

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations