New South Wales

  • Frederick Martin
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The constitution of New South Wales, the oldest of the Australasian colonies, was proclaimed in 1858. It vests the legislative power in a Parliament of two Houses, the first called the Legislative Council, and the second the Legislative Assembly. The Legislative Council consists of twenty-one members nominated by the Crown for the term of five years; and the Assembly of seventy-two members, elected in eighty-nine constituencies. To be eligible, a man must be of age, a natural-born subject of the Queen, or, if an alien, then he must have been naturalised for five years, and resident for two years before election. There is no property qualification for electors, and the votes are taken by secret ballot. The executive is in the hands of a governor nominated by the Crown.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1867

Authors and Affiliations

  • Frederick Martin

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations