• Frederick Martin
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The republic of Uruguay, or Banda Oriental del Uruguay, formerly a Brazilian province, on August 25, 1825, declared its independence, which was recognised by the Treaty of Montevideo, signed August 27, 1828. The constitution of the republic was proclaimed July 18, 1831. By the terms of this charter, the legislative power is in the hands of a parliament composed of two houses, the Senate and the Chamber of Representatives, which meet in annual session, extending from February 15 to the end of June. In the interval of the session, a permanent committee of two senators and five members of the Lower House assume the legislative power, as well as the general control of the administration.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1866

Authors and Affiliations

  • Frederick Martin

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations