Five Principles of Peaceful Coexistence

  • Willem Frederik van Eekelen


The Sino-Indian treaty of 1954 stated in its preamble that the two governments being desirous of promoting trade and cultural intercourse between the Tibet region of China and India, and of facilitating pilgrimage and travel by the peoples of China and India based their agreement on the following principles:
  1. 1

    Mutual respect for each other’s territorial integrity and sovereignty.

  2. 2

    Mutual non-aggression.

  3. 3

    Mutual non-interference in each other’s internal affairs.

  4. 4

    Equality and mutual benefit.

  5. 5

    Peaceful co-existence.



Internal Affair Mutual Respect Mutual Benefit Territorial Integrity Peaceful Coexistence 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 3.
    Rajan, M. S., “Indian Foreign Policy in action,” India Quarterly, XVI (1960) 203–236.Google Scholar
  2. 5.
    Fifield, R. H., “The Five Principles of Peaceful Coexistence,” A.J.I.L., 52 (1958) 504–510.Google Scholar
  3. 2.
    Zinkin, Taya, “Indian foreign policy: an interpretation of attitudes”, World Politics, VII (1955) 203–4.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Science + Business Media B.V. 1964

Authors and Affiliations

  • Willem Frederik van Eekelen

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations