• C. T. Ingold
  • H. J. Hudson


Ascomycotina is the largest division of fungi. If lichens are included, there are over 42 000 species. In spite of a considerable range of form, the division appears to be a natural one. Its members are characterized by having asci. The ascus is a special type of sporangium which usually contains eight ascospores. Development is highly distinctive. The young ascus has two haploid nuclei. These fuse to form a diploid one which immediately undergoes meiosis so that four haploid nuclei are formed. Usually each of these then divides mitotically. Around the individual nuclei ascospores are organized, but some protoplasm (epiplasm) is left outside the eight ascospores (Fig. 4.1). In most Ascomycotina the ascus bursts at maturity, squirting its contained spores into the air to a distance varying with the species concerned from 2–400 mm (Fig. 4.2 and Plate 1d).


Powdery Mildew Black Crust Spore Discharge Female Organ Haploid Nucleus 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© C.T. Ingold and H.J. Hudson 1993

Authors and Affiliations

  • C. T. Ingold
    • 1
  • H. J. Hudson
    • 2
  1. 1.Birkbeck CollegeUniversity of LondonUK
  2. 2.Cambridge UniversityUK

Personalised recommendations