Intrinsic Localized Modes in Metamaterials

  • Bijoy Mandal
  • Arindam Biswas
  • Swarup Samanta
  • A. K. Bhattacharjee
Conference paper
Part of the Springer Proceedings in Physics book series (SPPHY, volume 166)


Metamaterials are also important nonlinear optical materials for applications in split-ring-resonator (SRR) in the antenna arrays. By using a Klein-Gordon approach, first classical breathers are shown. Then, by using a periodic boundary condition, quantum breathers are also shown in terms of TPBS parameters against coupling in the SRR system. An important variation of the TPBS parameters with coupling is observed. Finally, in a non-periodic boundary condition approach, the temporal variation of number of quanta is shown to derive the time of redistribution of quanta.


Split Ring Resonator Bosonic Operator Discrete Breather Spectral Collocation Method Single Phonon 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


  1. 1.
    Veselago VG (1968) Sov Phys Usp 10:509Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    Smith DR, Padilla WJ, Vier DC, Nemat-Nasser SC, Schultz S (2000) Phys Rev Lett 84:4184Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    Pendry JB, Holden AJ, Roberts DJ, Stewart WJ (1998) J Phys Condens Matter 10:4785Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    Pendry JB, Holden AJ, Roberts DJ, Stewart WJ (1999) IEEE Trans Micr Theory Tech 47:2075Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    Schulman LS, Tolkunov D, Mihokova E (2006) Structure and time-dependence of quantum breathers. Chem Phys 322:55–74Google Scholar
  6. 6.
    O’Brien S, McPeake D, Ramakrishna SA, Pendry JB (2004) Phys Rev B 69:241101Google Scholar
  7. 7.
    Giri P, Choudhary K, Sengupta A, Bandyopadhyay AK, Ray PC (2011) Discrete breathers in nonlinear LiNbO3-type ferroelectrics. J Appl Phys 109:054105–054112Google Scholar
  8. 8.
    Biswas A, Choudhary K, Bandyopadhyay AK, Bhattacharjee AK, Mandal D (2011) Quantum pinning transition due to charge defect in ferroelectrics. J Appl Phys 110:024104–024111CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer India 2015

Authors and Affiliations

  • Bijoy Mandal
    • 1
  • Arindam Biswas
    • 2
  • Swarup Samanta
    • 2
  • A. K. Bhattacharjee
    • 3
  1. 1.Department of CSENSHM Knowledge CampusDurgapurIndia
  2. 2.Department of ECEHooghly Engineering and Technology CollegeHooghlyIndia
  3. 3.Department of ECENITDurgapurIndia

Personalised recommendations