Forest and Wildlife Conservation Acts

  • Subodh Kumar Maiti


The environmental and forestry clearances given by the Ministry of Environment and Forests are based on the (i) Environment Protection Act, 1986, (ii) The Forest Conservation Act, 1980 and (iii) The Wildlife Protection Act, 1972. The very welcome intervention of the Supreme Court has made the forestry clearance process (and also that of wildlife clearance under the Wildlife Protection Act, 1972) very comprehensive and detailed: The detailed acts and rules are


Forest Land National Park Carbon Capture User Agency Forest Conservation 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


  1. Forest (Conservation) Act (1980)
  2. The Scheduled Tribes and Other Traditional Forest Dwellers (Recognition of Forest Rights) Act (2006) The Gazette of India, Extraordinary, Part-II-Section-I.
  3. National Forest Policy (NFP) (1988) Ministry of Environment and Forests, GOI, New Delhi.
  4. Wildlife Conservation Strategy (2002)
  5. FAC (Forest Advisory Committee) (2002)
  6. CAMPA (2004) Compensatory Afforestation Fund Management and Planning Authority (CAMPA).
  7. State CAMPA (2009) The Guidelines on State Compensatory Afforestation Fund Management and Planning Authority (state CAMPA).
  8. CHW Guidelines (2011) Critical Wildlife Habitats (CHW) guidelines.
  9. The Wildlife (Protection) Amendment Bill (2010)

Copyright information

© Springer India 2013

Authors and Affiliations

  • Subodh Kumar Maiti
    • 1
  1. 1.Indian School of Mines Department of Environmental Science and EngineeringCentre for Mining EnvironmentDhanbadIndia

Personalised recommendations