Fiscal Federalism in Australia

  • Robert J. Searle
Conference paper


The Australian Federation was formed in 1901 when the six British colonies on the Australian continent asked the British Government to pass legislation to form the Commonwealth of Australia. One of those colonies, South Australia, brought the Northern Territory into the Federation with it as a Commonwealth Territory. In 1913, the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) was formed when, as required by the Constitution, the Commonwealth Parliament annexed an area from New South Wales so that the national capital, Canberra, could be constructed.


Municipal Government Capita Relativity Australian Capital Territory Fiscal Equalisation Fiscal Transfer 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer Japan 1998

Authors and Affiliations

  • Robert J. Searle
    • 1
  1. 1.Commonwealth Grants CommissionAustralia

Personalised recommendations